Building on a successful 2018-19 year that included the development of a  statewide vision for library leadership and delivery of several regional institutes, CLA received funding from the California State Library this year to further the creation of leadership development curriculum and opportunities for California library staff.

Working with representatives from the CLA Board and the California State Library, we identified a need for a more comprehensive framework to help build toward the vision.

After discussion and review of existing models, we selected the foundational competencies identified by the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). All grant activities will be evaluated as to their effectiveness in developing one or more of these competencies.

For the 2019-20 grant year, we are continuing the successful leadership cohort model that was established in the prior year, as well as continuing short-format workshops based on a national leadership curriculum for libraries, archives and museums. Another component of the DLCL program that will be continued in 2019-20 is “The Leadership Challenge”, a program that brought together librarians from all over the State to develop solutions to the issues important to their communities and help empower the residents of the most diverse state in the country.

An important component of the grant is the formation of an Advisory Committee to help guide the decisions and direction of the project going forward and help ensure that it meets the needs of a broad spectrum of libraries, library workers and students. The 2018-19 Committee members currently are:

  • Beverly Schwartzberg, Program Consultant, California State Library
  • Diana Garcia, City Librarian, Monterey Park Bruggemeyer Public Library
  • Genesis Hansen, Library Director, Mission Viejo Public Library
  • Luis Herrera, Library Director Emeritus, San Francisco Public Library
  • Sandy Hirsh, PhD, Director, San Jose State University iSchool
  • Cindy Mediavilla, PhD, Program Evaluator, UCLA Department of Information Studies
  • Renée Ousley-Swank, President California School Library Association, School Library Technology Consultant, California Department of Education
  • Sarah Roberts, PhD, Assistant Professor, UCLA Department of Information Studies